Adventure Travel, Books on traveling with kids, Family travel, Traveling with kids

Where To Go

bb521de6-fee8-49fc-b955-890bc20eab04

At this time of year, many of you are thinking about where to go on vacation. You know Fall and Winter are around the corner. Some last-minute planners are thinking about Thanksgiving or Winter break. Others are planning for Spring or Summer. Regardless of which trip you are planning, picking a location can be overwhelming. There are so many places in the world to go and how do you pick?

I personally try to find a place that will please all the members of my family and their varying interests. Sometimes this is challenging, when you have boys and girls with different interests and a wide age spread. Next, I plan for the year with a mixture of culture, sports and nature trips. So I will do a city, a golf or ski trip and maybe a trip to the National Parks or the Amazon. When the kids are 8-18 I think that showing them new cultures and places is really fun. They are only young for a while, so I try to do one really cool and memorable trip a year.

P1010329463f4f

After figuring out beach vs sports vs nature, I determine budget and distance I can travel. For instance, you can find a vacation spot close to home or on the other side of the world. Look at lists of top destinations and books with suggestions. Some of my favorites are “Fodors,” “Travel + Leisure” and “1000 Places to See Before You Die,” as well as some of the National Geographic books. The internet and library have a wealth of information, and then you might ask friends or travel agents.

I actually have a book with some of my recommendations for kids of various ages and interests: Come Fly with Me. Let me know if you would like a copy.

ComeFlyWithMe

Here are my top picks for families:

Tennis and Golf: Kiawah

Beach: Barbados

Cruise: Royal Caribbean

National Park: Grand Tetons

Animals: African Safari

Ski Vacation: Vail

US City: Seattle or Boston

European City: Rome or London

Liz_s_Pictures_878

All this really depends on your family and what you like. Feel free to call me and I’ll help give you some suggestions.

Happy Travels!
Liz and Mike Kohler

Leave a Reply

